The Job Hunt

Recently, I went to the Rekorderlig Spirit of Summer event at Club 29 in Glasgow. It was a lovely night with samples of new flavours of Rekorderlig, canapes, cocktails, BBQ of Swedish food, a photo booth, and face paint! They provided us with free flower crowns and sunglasses and even though it was outside, a bit rainy and cold, they have heaters all over the place to make us feel much warmer and more in the summer spirit!

I’ve had a sudden boost of motivation. I’ve spent the afternoon applying for jobs and looking out my holiday clothes. Although, I am a bit sceptical about applying for jobs right now as I’m away on holiday for a whole month, so I have to state that if I am selected for the interview process, I’m not actually available until 29th of October. Bit rubbish, as if they would delay the interview process/save me a place. Who knows, the NHS jobs I’ve applied for state that I should (if successful) hear back within 6 weeks. Hopefully, (if successful) I’ll hear back towards the end of my holiday.

I’ve not been too successful on the job searching front, yet. I had an interview for a clinical scientist trainee post which went well, but unfortunately I wasn’t selected. I got a phone call just a few hours after the interview stating that although my interview was good, all the candidates were very strong and it just wasn’t to be. I’ve tried phoning up several times for some post-interview feedback, but each time it has rung out or went to the answering machine. Hmm. How long after an interview is too long to request feedback?

Once I get home from my holiday, I’m going to apply for as many jobs as I can. I currently only work 10 hours a week and it’s just not enough. Not only is the money a bit rubbish, but I’m wasting my days away doing nothing through the week and can’t actually afford to do much.

That being said, this week is going to be a busy one! I have to go into Glasgow to collect my South African Rand tomorrow, spa day with my mum and sister on Tuesday, my first ever snowboarding lesson/experience on Wednesday, lunch with Amy and The 1975 on Thursday, Still Game on Sunday, and finally South Africa on the Monday!

2 thoughts on “The Job Hunt

Leave a Reply

