Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

I love baking. I find it relaxing. I hate the washing up that I have to do afterwards though! Since I purchased the book The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days I’ve been making a whole variety of cakes from lemonade to strawberry daiquiri flavour. I thought that the strawberry daiquiri ones were the best I had made, until today. I was inspired by Steph from Raspberri Cupcakes with her mint chocolate chip cake that I decided to modify my favourite chocolate cupcake recipe to make mint chocolate chip cupcakes! I didn’t use Steph’s cake recipe, as I didn’t really fancy a hint of coffee, but I’m sure they would have tasted great if I did.   Admittedly, they are not my most aesthetically pleasing looking cakes and I don’t have a fancy camera and editing software to make them look perfect, but they taste brilliant. My harshest critic said they were the best I’ve made so far (and I’ve made a hell of a lot) so I thought I’d share my recipe. My frosting gun jammed with the chocolate chunks so I just splattered the frosting on by hand, making the biggest mess possible whilst doing so! 2014-07-21 21.14.38 To make these scrumptious cakes, you will need:

for the cupcakes, 80g unsalted butter 280g caster sugar 200g plain flour 40g cocoa powder 1tbs baking powder 1/4 tsp salt 240ml whole milk 2 large eggs 1tsp peppermint essence

for the frosting, 500g icing sugar 160g unsalted butter 50ml whole milk 2 tsp peppermint essence Green food colouring (I used 1 whole tube of Dr. Oetker’s gel) 150g dark chocolate

2014-07-21 21.16.38

This is adapted from Cake Days by The Humming Bird Bakery and makes 12-16 cakes (although somehow I always end up nearer to 20).

  • Preheat the oven to 190 degrees C.
  • Using an electric mixer, beat together the butter, sugar, flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking powder until it resembles fine breadcrumbs.
  • Mix the milk, peppermint essence and eggs together in a jug and slowly add these to the mixer, making sure everything is fully mixed together. Mix until smooth.
  • Spoon into muffin cases and bake for 18-20 minutes.
  • For the frosting, mix the icing sugar and the butter together until sandy in consistency.  Add the peppermint and milk together before adding to the mix. Whisk until light and fluffy.
  • Break up the chocolate into very small chunks by using a food processor.
  • Add the food colouring and the chocolate to the mixture and make sure they are fully incorporated.
  • Frost those cakes once they have cooled.

I just guessed with the measurements of the peppermint essence, but it worked out great for me. If you want your cakes to be a bit more minty, then add in more than the 1 or 2 teaspoons that I suggested. 🙂 I’ve picked up a few tips along the way whilst baking so I thought I’d share them with you guys! Use an ice cream scoop for putting the batter into the muffin cases in the baking tin. It’s much easier and less messier than using a couple of spoons. About 3/4 to 1 ice cream scoop full should be enough for each case. The cases should only be filled 2/3 of the way. Take a tea towel and soak it in some water. Ring some water out so that thw towel is damp and not dripping everywhere and cover your electric mixer with it – this prevents a huge mess when mixing flour or icing sugar and will save you a whole load of time when cleaning. 🙂 Enjoy! 🙂  

2 thoughts on “Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

